China Gourmet (Carlton St)

235 Carlton Street, Toronto  M5A
Type of cuisine
Chinese
Delivery | Pick-up
(39 ratings)
Rating 4.50 out of 6

Reviews for China Gourmet (Carlton St)


Date
Name / City
Rating
6 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
6 out of 6
Service:
11/09/2014 - 6:12 PM
Alex from Toronto
3 out of 6
Quality:
5 out of 6
Deliverytime:
5 out of 6
Service:
06/09/2014 - 5:42 PM
Alanna from Toronto
For the first-time I decided to try something new so I selected one of their "popular" dishes. I will not order the "spicy peanut chicken" again, Popular or not, my order was pasty, and the chicken was over-cooked, like it was cooked twice. I'll stick to their kung pao,
2 out of 6
Quality:
3 out of 6
Deliverytime:
1 out of 6
Service:
24/08/2014 - 4:07 PM
Glen from Toronto
Soo guy looked/tasted reheated/refried - didn't seem fresh. Asked for sweet and sour sauce instead of gravy - request was ignored.
6 out of 6
Quality:
4 out of 6
Deliverytime:
5 out of 6
Service:
18/08/2014 - 4:52 PM
Glen from Toronto
5 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
6 out of 6
Service:
15/08/2014 - 7:52 PM
Alain from toronto
6 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
6 out of 6
Service:
06/08/2014 - 6:32 PM
Varinia from Toronto
4 out of 6
Quality:
3 out of 6
Deliverytime:
3 out of 6
Service:
04/08/2014 - 9:07 PM
Warren from Toronto
Food was not delivered by the time provided. When I called the restaurant to make sure the food was coming, they didn't know who I was and kept telling me they were closed. The group had 7 egg rolls, but only received 3 packets of plumb sauce even after specifically asking for 7 packets in the comments section.
1 out of 6
Quality:
4 out of 6
Deliverytime:
3 out of 6
Service:
04/08/2014 - 8:52 PM
Barb from Toronto
2 out of 6
Quality:
4 out of 6
Deliverytime:
4 out of 6
Service:
28/07/2014 - 12:06 PM
Robyn from Toronto
The tofu in both the general Taos tofu and the buds delight were so tough it was like eating leather :( however the har gow was delicious.
5 out of 6
Quality:
5 out of 6
Deliverytime:
5 out of 6
Service:
23/07/2014 - 5:15 PM
Alanna from Toronto
5 out of 6
Quality:
5 out of 6
Deliverytime:
5 out of 6
Service:
22/07/2014 - 12:18 PM
Nalinie from North Yrok
5 out of 6
Quality:
5 out of 6
Deliverytime:
5 out of 6
Service:
20/07/2014 - 6:21 PM
Clem from toronto
1 out of 6
Quality:
5 out of 6
Deliverytime:
3 out of 6
Service:
09/07/2014 - 3:53 PM
Andrew from Toronto
I ordered pork... They gave me duck and vegetables.
4 out of 6
Quality:
4 out of 6
Deliverytime:
6 out of 6
Service:
17/06/2014 - 6:21 PM
Alanna from Toronto
5 out of 6
Quality:
5 out of 6
Deliverytime:
5 out of 6
Service:
17/06/2014 - 2:15 PM
Peter from TORONTO
Having just moved from Spadina to Leslie Ville, I was missing my Chinese food fix. There aren't many Chinese restaurants in Leslie Ville, so my choices on Just-eat are very limited. One day, on a whim I decided to check out "Gourmet Chinese Food." Obviously, I didn't have the expectation of receiving gourmet(nor did I get it), but out of all the handful of Chinese cuisines I've ordered online from my area, this place is the only one that offers authentic Chinese food and Westernized Chinese Food on Just-eat. I can't stand to order anything from the other Chinese competitors, so this is my best option. The food isn't amazing, but it's actually edible compared to the others, haha. Also, from the financial perspective of a student, this place is ridiculously cheap. I ordered a few appetizers--one of which were Pan Fried Dumplings, and let me say they are huge. I felt like I was scamming them, because of how cheap everything is in ratio to the amount of food I'm getting. They did a good job preserving the heat within the food, considering the delivery time, so overall it was pretty good. My only real problem were the dumplings being served straight on styrofoam food containers. The bottom was melting from the piping hot dumplings, and who knows what that's doing to my food health-wise. I'll most likely order from here again, until a better place opens up in the area.
5 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
6 out of 6
Service:
21/04/2014 - 5:03 PM
Alanna from Toronto
Hot, tasty, fast and friendly.
2 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
3 out of 6
Service:
10/04/2014 - 6:30 PM
Fabian from toronto
Food was nice and hot, but I think the General George Chicken was reheated in a microwave as it was very chewy. The Special fried had very little else in it but rice. The hot and sour soup had a burnt taste. The quantity was plentiful but I could not eat most of it.
5 out of 6
Quality:
5 out of 6
Deliverytime:
5 out of 6
Service:
27/02/2014 - 12:50 PM
Karan from Toronto
6 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
6 out of 6
Service:
14/02/2014 - 8:38 PM
Vern from Toronto
6 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
6 out of 6
Service:
24/01/2014 - 9:49 PM
Vern from Toronto
6 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
6 out of 6
Service:
05/12/2013 - 7:49 PM
Brandon from Toronto
4 out of 6
Quality:
4 out of 6
Deliverytime:
1 out of 6
Service:
26/11/2013 - 6:48 PM
M.Peart from Toronto
Someone explain to me how a restaurant can call and simply yell "Open the door" and think it is acceptable? Once I did open the door.. I had 40 dollars for my 27 dollar order however the delivery woman did not have change. When i requested change she suggested that she take a 20 dollar bill from me, come back, and take the rest of the payment when she comes back with change. This was confusing and illogical so I asked to pay in full after... and when she continued to insist this solution I handed the food back and ask her to forget it. BUT NO, then she put her foot in my door and insisted I just take the food while she go gets change. NOW I am left with a free meal and am utterly confused as I sit here waiting for her to return.
5 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
6 out of 6
Service:
11/11/2013 - 6:44 PM
Cory from Toronto
1 out of 6
Quality:
6 out of 6
Deliverytime:
1 out of 6
Service:
04/11/2013 - 1:23 PM
ANDRE from TORONTO
6 out of 6
Quality:
5 out of 6
Deliverytime:
5 out of 6
Service:
30/10/2013 - 12:08 PM
Olga from Toronto
PAGE 1 / 2